top of page


Each year, Voices for Children recognizes individuals and organizations from the Brazos Valley who have made significant contributions to the community through their time, actions, talents, and dedication. We welcome nominations from our supporters and community partners to aid us in honoring these individuals and community partners. Award recipients are recognized at the Voices for Children Gala on March 2, 2024. Please review the description of the awards and select the appropriate category for your nominee. Select the Nominations link below to submit your recommendation for nomination.

Nominations for the 2024 Voices for Children are now closed. Honorees will be announced soon.

Award Descriptions

Champion for Children Award

The Champion for Children Award is bestowed upon an individual who has had a significant financial impact on Voices for Children. This individual shows great commitment to advocating for children in the child welfare system through their outstanding efforts in service and support of Voices For Children.

Ronnie Jackson “Friends of Children” Award

The Ronnie Jackson "Friends of Children" Award goes to an organization or individual that has shown particular devotion to the well-being of children through their support of Voices for Children and demonstrated by their commitment to service. This award was established in 2005 in honor of Ronnie Jackson who was an active community volunteer who championed causes for children and the underprivileged. Ronnie served on the VFC Board of Directors and was active on the golf committee and volunteer recruitment committees. As a dedicated board member, he was present at meetings and contributed solutions, often volunteering to be part of the resolution. He was always advocating for those in need.

Ron and Judy Winn Foster Parents of the Year Award

In 2018, Judy and Ron Winn established the Foster Parents of the Year Award. This award recognizes foster parents who provide outstanding care for children in foster care on a daily basis. Recipients of this award are selected by the Voices For Children staff. 

Judy Winn was in our very first CASA training class in 2001 and served as a CASA until 2018 when she took a leave of absence after being diagnosed with cancer. Judy served 25 children on 11 cases, before her passing on June 14, 2019. Ron actively supported Judy in her role as a CASA and continues to support the mission of Voices for Children. 

Bonnie Wikse Advocate of the Year Award

The Bonnie Wikse Advocate of the Year Award recognizes a CASA volunteer who the Voices for Children staff believes is an excellent representation of what a CASA should look like. This award is named for the late Bonnie Wikse, one of Voices For Children’s dedicated advocates. Bonnie became a CASA volunteer in 2008 and served in the role until 2014. During her time as a CASA, Bonnie served four children, on three separate cases and made a positive impact on each child she served.

Judge John Delaney Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award goes to an individual who is a true representation of the heart of Voices for Children. The honoree of this award has displayed great dedication to improving the lives of children in the child welfare system through many years of tireless service. This award does not have to be annual, but should only be given when seen fit.

Past Award Recipients

Champion for Children Award

2005 - Candy Rust

2006 - Judge Van Stovall

2007 - Jacque Flagg & Scott Delucia

2009 - Christy Hester

2010 - Steve & Beverly Ogden

2011 - Joyce Nies & Peter Witt

2012 - Rob & Amanda Childress

2013 - Penny Beaumont

2014 - Dr. Ken Matthews

2015 - Jeanette Phariss

2016 - Judge Steve Smith

2017 - Nancy & Len Berry

2018 - Art of Helping Children Committee

2019 - Crystal Dupre

2020 - Greg & Kate Mason

2022 - Randy & Doug French

2023 - Donald & Donna Adam and Trey & Stephanie Malechek

Foster Parents of the Year Award

2019 - John & Bekah Weirich

2020 - Vanessa Bowser

2022 - Charlotte Hoover & Leesa Donaho

2023 - Aaron & Mandy Hodge

Distinguished Service Award

2020 - Judge John Delaney

2023 - Cynthia Gage

Friends of Children Award

2005 - Judge Jim Locke

2006 - Richard Guerrero

2007 - Anne & Kevin O’Neill, Mel & Willie Pruitt, Helen Spencer

2009 - Carol & John Rhodes

2010 - Jane Riley

2011 - Beverly & Alan Reese

2012 - Kenn Walsh & Ronnie Keys

2013 - KBTX Media

2014 - Matt Faulkner & Brian Gibbs (Pact Design Studio)

2015 - Kappa Alpha Theta Sorority - TAMU Chapter

2016 - Harper & Maggie Cunningham (Books & a Blanket)

2017 - College Station Morning Lions Club

2018 - Citizens State Bank

2019 - Larry Hodges

2020 - Aggieland Realtors

2022 - BCS Together

2023 - Dr. Jesse & Dr. Becky Parr

Advocate of the Year Award

2009 - Faye Lane

2010 - Bilaliah Hazziez

2011 - Kay Huff

2012 - Noelle Perry

2013 - Bonnie Wikse

2014 - Judy Winn

2015 - Jim Stiff

2016 - Robert (Bob) McGee

2017 - Ben Crouch

2018 - Kelyn Wardlaw

2019 - Mike Laue

2020 - Melissa Freeman

2021 - Linda Timmerman

2022 - Christi Parham

2023 - Stephine Lacey

bottom of page